{#45} “In Dallas” © July 22, 2016

In Dallas

I want to remember everything

How the breeze feels 

Like soft cotton brushing up against my skin

Different bird sounds

Their music could put me to sleep

Humidity  

Grass

Trees

Airplanes flying overhead

Can you tell I am staying by the Dallas airport?

In Dallas

I will be leaving my heart here

As I have no further use for it

A few years ago

I gave my heart to a certain person

Who to this day

Still lives

In Dallas

But he placed it under his bed

In a sealed “Lost and Found”  box

It is long forgotten about

It shall remain there for the rest of eternity

I hear a bus warming it’s engine  

It will be taking young girls to a softball game

They are so beautiful

Filled with excitement  

I used to look at him and feel that way too

He now keeps my heart

In a sealed “Lost and Found” box

Underneath his bed

I smell BBQ in the air

God, it smells so good

But alas

It is all downhill from here

In Dallas

I want to remember everything

With him

I just can’t  win

Even his name 

Is printed on the pen that I am using

To write this story

I shall leave my heart here

Underneath his bed

In a sealed “Lost and Found” box

In Dallas  

Because I will need it

Nevermore  


-vicki-




Leave a Reply

