{#2} “P.I.G.” © January 2, 2016

image

My birthfather was a police officer
He was a PIG
Back then
PIG also had a very different meaning
P…Pride
I…Integrity 
G…Guts
And he had the guts
If there was ever a problem
It didn’t matter if he was “On the clock”
Or not
He stepped in
And as a little girl
He safely put me behind the scenes 
Hiding me in the back of the store
Then running to assist 
Only then
After the problem was taken care of
He would come and get me
Acting like there was never anything wrong
I do remember
He was Proud
He had integrity 
He had guts
And he was also my birthfather

-vicki-

In memory of
William Gene Gibbons
B: 1-31-1930
D: 11-12-2011

One thought on “{#2} “P.I.G.” © January 2, 2016”

Leave a Reply

