{#41} “Desert Colored Girl” March 17, 2015 ©

image

Today will be the day
That I must let
My love go
After work
I will buy a helium balloon 
And a red sharpie marker
I am going to cry
As I will be writing his name
On the balloon
With little red hearts
Surrounding his name
I will also buy myself
A cold beer
Then I will drive
Out into the desert
I am going out there
So I can remember
A special moment that we had shared
When he called me his
“Desert Colored Girl”
He doesn’t call me anything
Anymore
He has been my only love
And I knew one day
That he would break my heart
So on this special balloon
I will write his name
And the little red hearts
That I draw around it
Represent all of the love
That my heart has ever held
Or will ever hold again
I raise a toast to my love
Then
I am letting it all go
As he took all of my love
And I will never love again
Today will be the day
That I must let
My love go

-vicki-

Leave a Reply

