“No Reply At All” Mystery Dancer series July 26, 2000 ©

image

So in front of the audience 
I called out to you
There was no answer
No reply at all
My mistake 
But how could I have been so wrong?
I thought maybe there was something
Something between us
An unspoken love and hidden desire for each other
It must have just been my imagination 
But that’s alright 
I will never
Never stop thinking or caring about you
But call out to you again?
No….
That was my last call
With my heart…my soul…
And my arms opened wide
I called out to you
A cold…bitter cold silence…..filled the air
There was nothing
No reply at all
I must have been wrong
My mistake 
But then the audience applauded 
They loved what I had to say
I just wished you did

-vicki-

I wrote this after my first time at an open poetry reading in Rockford, Illinois. I read my “Mystery Dancer” poem.

Leave a Reply

