{#2} “Should Not Have Answered” Jan. 4, 2015 ©

The first time you called me
I answered
I was sitting in this exact spot
Only God knows
How much I want or need you to call me now
That’s just not ever going to happen again
You were with her last night
Long before me
She held your heart
Never stood a chance
Did I?
I didn’t know about her
That wasn’t fair
I would have set up barbed wire
Around my heart
To keep you away

image

My guard was down
What the fuck was I thinking?
I wasn’t
I’m shattered
Trying to pull myself together
All the while you’re holding her
Loving her
Kissing her
You are “Truly In Love” with her
image

I am sitting in the exact same spot
As the first time you called me
I should not have answered

-vicki-

Leave a Reply

